New Zealand announce squad for Bangladesh Tests, Ajaz Patel dropped

In what can be called a shocking decision, New Zealand have left out spinner Ajaz Patel from their 13-man squad for the upcoming two-match Test series against Bangladesh.

The left-arm spinner created history earlier this month, having taken 10 wickets in an innings against India in Mumbai. While many viewed Patel as New Zealand’s primary spinner, the national selectors viewed things from a different perspective.

In Rachin Ravindra and Daryl Mitchell, the Kiwis have named two spin-bowling options in their squad. However, Ajaz hasn’t found a place as he doesn’t offer assistance in other departments. Speaking of his exclusion, New Zealand head coach Gary Stead admitted the left-arm spinner is unfortunate to miss out, having bowled a historic spell recently. He, however, explained the selection committee has applied a ‘horses-for-courses selection policy’.

New Zealand’s 13-man squad for Bangladesh Tests:

Tom Latham (C), Will Young, Daryl Mitchell, Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Tom Blundell (wk), Rachin Ravindra, Kyle Jamieson, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner, Trent Boult, Matt Henry, Devon Conway.